Former synagogue

The Old Synagogue

The synagogue with Jewish school and rabbi’s apartment was erected in 1755/56. Together with the Israelite cemetery founded about 50 years earlier and comprising 373 preserved gravestones, it is the only structural evidence of Muehlhausen’s long Jewish history authentically passed to us. The synagogue belongs to the few synagogue buildings of the baroque period in Bavaria. By this it is actually one of the oldest preserved synagogues in Bavaria.

Muehlhausen’s synagogue is a two-storey, rectangular massive structure with hipped roof. The facades are plastered and framed by square-section corner pilaster strips. The street facade is structured in five axes by regularly placed windows with segmental arches. The entrance, also decorated with a segmental arch, was originally located at the rightmost axis. From here, the school and the rabbi’s appartment could be entered. In 1938, a rectangular barn’s entry with wooden gate extending to the half of the upper floor was broken into the southern half of the street facade.

Ansicht von Westen mit Scheunentor
View of the western facade with barn’s entry.

The synagogue’s Prayer Room lays in the eastern, rear sector of the building with the entrance at the southern facade. The segmental arch of this entrance is accentuated by its capstone. Above, the coat of arms of House of Egloffstein is elaborately worked in relief. A so called marriage stone with a circular, six-leaved flower and a Hebrew inscription were placed on the right side of the entrance.

Ansicht von der Eingangstür im Süden mit Wappen und Hochzeitsstein
View of the entrance at the southern facade with coat of arms and marriage stone.
Marriage stone – chuppah stone. “The sounds of joy and gladness, the voices of bride and bridegroom” (Jer 7:34; Jer 33:11). The words “I want to sing [to the] Lord” indicate the year 5516 using minor era (=1755/56).

The Prayer Room’s ceiling is constructed as a flattened cloister vault with lunettes embellished with colourful stucco ornaments. These ornaments in the style of the construction’s period show an ornate decoration with ribbon- and leaf-shaped elements.

Innenansicht vom Betsaal mit der Stuckdecke
Interior view of the Prayer Room with stucco ceiling.

A stucco frame curved and profiled in baroque style confines the ceiling medallion. In the triangle in its centre, a Hebrew verse from the Old Testament reports the year of construction as chronogram: “Lift up your eyes [and look to the heavens: Who created all these? He who brings out the starry host one by one and calls forth each of them by name. Because of his great power and mighty strength, not one of them is missing.]” (Isaiah 40:26). The letters shin, resh, waw and yodh marked by dots form the Jewish year 5516 using minor era (= 1755/56).

Innenansicht, Mittelpunkt der Decke (Dreieck) mit hebräischem Vers und Chronogramm)
Interior view, ceiling medallion with Hebrew verse and chronogram in its centre (triangle).

Most of the former synagogues and Prayer Rooms do not exist anymore. The largest synagogue building of our region, which is fortunately well preserved, is located in Muehlhausen.

Ehemalige Synagoge

Die 1755/56 errichtete Synagoge mit jüdischer Schule und Rabbinerwohnung ist zusammen mit dem rund fünfzehn Jahre zuvor angelegten israelitischen Friedhof mit 373 erhaltenen Steinen das einzige authentisch überlieferte bauliche Zeugnis der weit zurückreichenden jüdischen Vergangenheit Mühlhausens. Die Synagoge gehört zu den wenigen Synagogenbauten der Barockzeit in Bayern. Damit ist sie eine der ältesten erhaltenen Synagogen in Bayern überhaupt.

Die Mühlhausener Synagoge ist ein zweigeschossiger, längsrechteckiger Massivbau mit Walmdach. Die Fassaden sind verputzt, als Gliederung dienen gequaderte Ecklisenen. Die Fenster der fünfachsigen Straßenfassade sind streng regelmäßig gesetzt und schließen als Segmentbögen. Der ebenfalls segmentbogige Hauseingang lag ursprünglich in der ganz rechts liegenden Achse der Straßenseite, von hier aus wurden die Schule und die Wohnung des Rabbiners erschlossen. In die südliche Hälfte der Straßenfassade wurde 1938 eine hochrechteckige, bis auf die halbe Höhe des Obergeschosses reichende „Scheuneneinfahrt“ mit geradem Holztor eingebrochen.

Ansicht von Westen mit Scheunentor
Ansicht von Westen mit Scheunentor

Der Betraum der Synagoge befindet sich im östlichen, rückwärtigen Bereich des Gebäudes. Der Zugang hierzu liegt an der Südseite; dessen flacher Segmentbogen wird durch einen Scheitelstein akzentuiert. Über der Tür zum Betraum ist ein aufwendig reliefiertes Wappen der Freiherren von Egloffstein angebracht, daneben ein sog. Hochzeitsstein mit kreisrunder, sechsblättriger Blüte und hebräischer Inschrift.

Ansicht von der Eingangstür im Süden mit Wappen und Hochzeitsstein
Ansicht von der Eingangstür im Süden mit Wappen und Hochzeitsstein
Hochzeitstein – Chuppa-Stein. „Stimme der Wonne und Stimme der Freude, Stimme des Bräutigams und Stimme der Braut“ Die Worte „ich will singen [dem] Herr[n]“ nach der kleinen Zählung ergeben 5516 (= 1755/56)

Die Decke des Betraums ist als flaches Spiegelgewölbe mit Stichkappen ausgeführt; die einzelnen Kappen sind mit reichem, bänder- und blätterartigem Rokoko-Stuckornament der Bauzeit überzogen. Sämtliches Stuckornament ist farbig gefasst.

Innenansicht vom Betsaal mit der Stuckdecke
Innenansicht vom Betsaal mit der Stuckdecke

Die Mitte des Deckenspiegels bildet, innerhalb eines barockisierend geschweiften und profilierten Stuckrahmens, ein dem Alten Testament entnommener hebräischer Vers mit einem das Baujahr der Synagoge ergebenden Chronogramm: „Hebt eure Augen in die Höhe [und seht! Wer hat dies geschaffen? Er führt ihr Heer vollzählig heraus und ruft sie alle mit Namen; seine Macht und starke Kraft ist so groß, dass nicht eins davon fehlt.]“ Die durch Punkte markierten Buchstaben schin, resch, waw und jod ergeben „nach der kleinen Zählung“ das jüdische Jahr 5516 (= 1755/56)

Innenansicht, Mittelpunkt der Decke (Dreieck) mit hebräischem Vers und Chronogramm)
Innenansicht, Mittelpunkt der Decke (Dreieck) mit hebräischem Vers und Chronogramm)

Die meisten der früheren Synagogen und Beträume existieren heute nicht mehr. Das größte und erfreulicherweise gut erhaltene Synagogengebäude unserer Region befindet sich in Mühlhausen.